International Council (IC)

Responsibilities of the International Council (IC) of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award Association (IAA).

The roles and responsibilities of the IC are to:

  • Supervise the operational functions of the International Award Foundation (IAF);
  • Discuss and approve the agenda and arrangements for the Forum;
  • Act on behalf of the International Award Association (IAA) between Forum meetings;
  • Ensure that decisions made at the Forum are put into action;
  • Accept qualified National Award Operators (NAOs) into provisional membership of the IAA.

Meetings

The IC meets once a year, either at the Forum, International Gold Event (IGE) or at a specific IC meeting, depending on where we are in the three year cycle of events. The most recent IC meeting took place in Missenden in November 2019.

Members

The International Council consists of the Trustees and the Secretary General of the International Award Foundation plus 12 representatives who were elected at Forum 2018 (to represent the interests of National Award Operators and Independent Award Centres in an area) and eight Emerging Leader Representatives who were elected at the IGE in 2017. The Rt Hon The Lord Boateng PC DL, UK is Chair of the IC.

12 representatives as elected in 2018:

Africa Togo Komi Abitor, National Chair, kabitor@etd-ong.org
Seychelles Fabian Palmyre, National Chair, fpalmyre@gov.sc
South Africa Rochelle Josiah, National Chair, rochellej@talisgroup.co.za
Americas Bahamas Archdeacon James Palacious, National Chairman, jepalacious@gmail.com
Barbados Stephen Smith, National Chairman, deiabarbados.chairman@gmail.com
Canada Lou Gizzarelli, National Chair, L.Gizzarelli@neopost.com
Asia Pacific Australia Peter Kaye, National Director, ceo@dukeofed.com.au
Bangladesh Rizwan Farouq, National Trustee, rizwanfarouq@hotmail.com
New Zealand Karen Ross, National Director, karen@dofehillary.org.nz
Europe, Mediterranean and Arab States Czech Republic Jiri Zrust, National Chairman, jiri.zrust@macquarie.com
Gibraltar Michael Pizzarello, National Director, mjpizza@gibtelecom.net
Netherlands Pascalle Cup, National Director, pascalle.cup@award.nl

8 Emerging Leader Representatives elected in 2017:

Africa Ghana Jones Viduku, jonesviduku@gmail.com
South Africa Monica Murray, mmurray9415@gmail.com
Americas Barbados Jamar Odwin, jamarodwin@gmail.com
Cayman Islands Renece Willis-Bazil, Renece.willis@gmail.com
Asia Pacific Hong Kong Christopher Pang, Christopher1021994@hotmail.com
Sri Lanka Tharindra Arumapperuma, tarumapperuma@gmail.com
Europe,  Mediterranean and Arab States United Kingdom James McClements, james.mcclements@dofe.org
Slovakia Michaela Musilova, musilova@sosa.sk

International Foundation contacts:

Secretary General John May John.May@intaward.org
Operations Director Edwin Kimani edwin.kimani@intaward.org
Operations Director Melissa Stoakes melissa.stoakes@intaward.org
Operations Director Sam Williams sam.williams@intaward.org

 

The Foundation and International Council thank the outgoing Emerging Leader Representatives for their dedication and commitment to the development of the Award over the last three years.