International Council (IC)

Responsibilities of the International Council (IC) of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award Association (IAA).

The roles and responsibilities of the IC are to:

  • Supervise the operational functions of the International Award Foundation (IAF);
  • Discuss and approve the agenda and arrangements for the Forum;
  • Act on behalf of the International Award Association (IAA) between Forum meetings;
  • Ensure that decisions made at the Forum are put into action;
  • Accept qualified National Award Operators (NAOs) into provisional membership of the IAA.


The IC meets once a year, either at the Forum, International Gold Event (IGE) or at a specific IC meeting, depending on where we are in the three year cycle of events. The most recent IC meeting took place in Ghana in November 2018.


The International Council consists of the Trustees and the Secretary General of the International Award Foundation plus 12 regional representatives who were elected at Forum 2018 (three per region to represent the interests of national operators and independent centres in their region) and eight Emerging Leader Representatives who were elected at the IGE in 2017. The Rt Hon The Lord Boateng PC DL, UK is Chair of the IC.

12 regional representatives as elected in 2018:

Africa Togo Komi Abitor, National Chair,
Seychelles Fabian Palmyre, National Chair,
South Africa Rochelle Josiah, National Chair,
Americas Bahamas Archdeacon James Palacious, National Chairman,
Barbados Stephen Smith, National Chairman,
Canada Lou Gizzarelli, National Chair,
Asia Pacific Australia Peter Kaye, National Director,
Bangladesh Rizwan Farouq, National Trustee,
New Zealand Karen Ross, National Director,
EMAS Czech Republic Jiri Zrust, National Chairman,
Gibraltar Michael Pizzarello, National Director,
Netherlands Pascalle Cup, National Director,

8 Emerging Leader Representatives elected in 2017:

Africa Ghana Jones Viduku,
South Africa Monica Murray,
Americas Barbados Jamar Odwin,
Cayman Islands Renece Willis-Bazil,
Asia Pacific Hong Kong Christopher Pang,
Sri Lanka Tharindra Arumapperuma,
EMAS United Kingdom James McClements,
Slovakia Michaela Musilova,

International Foundation contacts:

Secretary General John May
Regional Director – Africa Edwin Kimani
Regional Director – Americas David Clarke CVO ADC
Regional Director – Asia-Pacific Sue Walker
Regional Director – EMAS Melissa Stoakes


The Foundation and International Council thank the outgoing Emerging Leader Representatives for their dedication and commitment to the development of the Award over the last three years.